Viva La Colombia!!

Welcome fellow travel lovers! We are excited to kick off our travel blog. Here we’ll be covering a lot of travel adventures – ones we take independently as well as those we take together – so you’ll get a taste of everything. To start, we’ll cover our latest trip – Colombia!

If you are anything like my parents – or anyone else I’ve encountered – you may ask: Why Colombia? Immediately images of Narcos, Pablo Escabor and cocaine dealers from the 90s come to mind. Violence, desperation, kidnappings even! I get it, I really do. But I have to tell you, Colombia is nothing like I imagined – it was better. And we didn’t encounter a single drug dealer. Would I have made this journey 10 or even 5 years ago? No. However, Colombia has come a long way since then and if you’re willing to stretch outside your comfort zone, I can guarantee you’ll have a great time.

So, to start. Why Colombia? Well, we didn’t choose Colombia as much as Colombia seemed to choose us. Randomly one evening, my dear friend (and fellow blog contributor) Corinne and I were having dinner (and maybe a few too many drinks) when we were discussing our travel aspirations.

“I always wanted to go to South America” I said.

“I’m down” said Corinne. And that was that. Very little arm twisting was needed.

I knew I had flight miles I could use and started looking up places that were on Delta’s flight path. Brazil, Colombia and a few other countries were all options. We settled on Colombia because they didn’t require a Visa like Brazil did and we liked the pictures we saw. That’s all it took!

We zoned in on a few cities, but settled on two: Cartagena and Bogota. Cartagena is a beachy, colonial town right on the coast and Bogota is the country’s capital located right in the mountains. It seemed to be the best of both world’s and a great way to get a taste of multiple aspects of the country. I couldn’t pronounce either of those names but figured as long as I had a credit card and a passport, I wouldn’t let that stop me. Voila! The tickets were booked for the last week of March and we were ready.

We did some research and decided on the following outline to get us started:

CARTAGENA
  • Saturday – Arrive & settle into our Airbnb. Then proceed to out dancing!! Bailamos!

BOGOTA

  • Thursday – Visit Cerro de Monserratea church on top of the famed mountains in Bogota with a complete view of the city. It came highly recommended.
  •  http://www.cerromonserrate.com/en/
  • Saturday – Tour the rest of Bogota, hit up a graffiti art tour and check out  Zona Rosa in the evening.
  • Sunday – Departure – back to New York.

That was our agenda and for the most part we stuck to it, only deviating slightly from the plan to incorporate a few fun activities other travelers recommended to us along the way. Stay tuned for following posts where we cover the events that transpired!

 

One thought on “Viva La Colombia!!

Leave a Reply

